Posted by: gardner310 | November 28, 2014

Easier India visas! Finally!

We are so very excited. So happy today for our long wish has been answered. After two years of negotiating and planning, the Government of India today launched its new Electronic Travel Authorisation system or what is more commonly called Tourist Visa on Arrival. This heralds a new chapter in India tourism as this system will allow citizens of 43 countries to apply for their visas online and get their approval online as well.

The system was inaugurated today at a large industry event hosted by the trade. Present were the national Home Minster, the National Tourism Minister, a number of Ambassadors from different countries, other key government officials and over 400 members of the travel & hospitality industry.

The Indian Association of Tour Operators, who has been working on this project with the government for the past two years says that this is a game changer for us in Indian Tourism industry. It will allow for impulse travel to India, for travellers to plan their trips with shorter lead time and also allow travellers not residing in their country of citizenship to apply for tourist visas quicker and more easily. The entire process has been simplified and the visa fee is lower as well.

This is Phase 1 of the implementation and we expect the rest of the world to be added to the list in the next 4 – 6 months. You can see the official information video of the new system at Coming to India has never been so easy.

Download the brochure on the new system here

An article from today’s papers is here

Do share any feedback with us that you may have on the system and any challenges clients may face. We will share that input with the relevant ministries to see what needs to be tweaked.

The countries that can use this system are –
1. Australia
2. Brazil
3. Cambodia
4. Cook Islands
5. Djibouti
6. Fiji
7. Finland
8. Germany
9. Indonesia
10. Israel
11. Japan
12. Jordan
13. Kenya
14. Kiribati
15. Laos

16. Luxembourg
17. Marshall Islands
18. Mauritius
19. Mexico
20. Micronesia
21. Myanmar
22. Nauru
|23. New Zealand
24. Niue Island
25. Norway
26. Oman
27. Palau
28. Palestine
29. Papua New Guinea
30. Philippines

31. Republic of Korea
32. Russia
33. Samoa
34. Singapore
35. Solomon Islands
36. Thailand36. Thailand
37. Tonga
38. Tuvalu
39. UAE
40. Ukraine
41. United States of America
42. Vanuatu
43. Vietnam


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: